The archipelago of Madeira is part of Macaronesia, situated on the African plate. It belongs to Portugal and is in the European union.  Madeira is the outermost region of the territory union.

It is situated in the Atlantic ocean, at a 30 degree north latitude and a 16degree west longitude. For this reason it has the nickname of  “Pérola do Atlántico”  the Pearl of the Atlantic.

The island is around 978 km south west of Lisbon, Portugal and around 700 km off the African coastline, its almost on the same latitude as Casablanca.

The volcanic archipelago is made up of 8 islands the two largest being Madeira and Porto Santo, and also the only ones that are inhabited and have access by air as well as sea.

The remaining islands are natural reserves, that preserve their original beauty and life.

Madeira 740,7 km2
Porto Santo 42,5 km2
Desertas 14,2 km2 (3 islands which are uninhabited)
Selvagems 3,6 km2 (3 islands and 17 ilheus uninhabited)